I’m back! (and talking about China)

Posted: November 15, 2013 in My Observations, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Let me apologize for my absence.  I’ve had some extraordinary and overwhelming life events happen to me earlier this year.  This on top of working a full time job, attending college full time, and starting a small business has caused me to neglect this blog.  There have been plenty of times during the last few months where I have tried to sit down and write/rant about the state of our country and the world.  As it does, life kept getting in the way.

The problem is that my blog is the only real outlet I have.  I mentioned earlier that I’m attending college which almost guarantees that I’ll be surrounded by hard liberals.  Add the fact that I’m attending Film School and that multiplies tenfold.  Most of my close friends are liberals and my family seems pretty split.  I find it hard to have “intelligent” conversations about politics because most people just don’t want to think about it or get so upset that more harm is done then good.  First, burying your head in the sand is not going to help anyone.  You are not blameless just because you didn’t pick a side.  Second, many people on both sides just want to hear that their view is right and expect everyone else to jump on board.  I myself have been guilty of this.  It’s just natural to resist change and become defensive when your views seem to be under attack.  The problem is we need to be able to step back and observe the facts, which is what I try my best to do with this blog.

The events of late have caused me so much grief that I feel I have to do my part to try and inform people.  The most recent events I’m talking about are the joint operations in Hawaii between China and the U.S.  Chinese soldiers were invited to perform “disaster relief” exercises with the us in order to provide better communication between our two countries under the guise of helping countries in need.  They’re conducting drills simulating mass casualties and power outages caused by an earthquake.  In a world of rainbows and butterflies this would sound like a great way to help our fellow man; especially in light of the tragedy in the Philippines.

The problem is we actually live a world where it’s been proven that China has dedicated at least one entire building to hacking our systems and businesses resulting in the loss of approximately $300 BILLION.  They’ve hacked our power grid which our government has already admitted is extremely vulnerable and which we are hopelessly unprepared.  Now some say, “Well we’ve been spying and hacking them too!”  Yes we have, but if two burglars broke into each others’ homes and were caught in the act…do you think one would then invite the other over to check out their newly installed security system?  Never mind China’s countless human rights violations (it amazes me that people don’t know they still force abortions), Chinese drywall, and other toxic products to which we constantly have to be on guard.  Oh, and I almost forgot that China is currently leading a movement to get rid of the dollar as the dominant world reserve currency by buying up as much Gold as they can.

So knowing all that information, why would we want to work hand-in-hand with a country that has been secretly attacking our way of life?  They hack our power grid…so we invite them over so they can see our strategy on how to handle mass power outages!?  How does this make sense?  Just because they don’t deploy troops or suicide bombers doesn’t mean they haven’t declared war on our way of life.  I believe there is a new (at least to me) kind of warfare happening.  One that’s not decided in years, but decades.  To quote “The Dark Knight Rises” (I am a film student after all), “It’s the slow knife…that cuts the deepest.” They’re gaining traction in the world which in itself is fine.  Every country has the right seek prosperity but China is obviously our “frenemy” and we shouldn’t just be handing them the keys to the kingdom.

Comments
  1. Steve says:

    Very well wrote.

Share your thoughts

